December news

By Tim Mansfield

Umpires needed, league format for 2020, rule changes and key dates for early 2020

With more games in Division 2 next season in 2020 we will need more panel umpires and last season there were several occasions when we couldn't appoint to all games. We are asking all clubs to identify club members and ex-players who may be able to stand in a few games this season.

We have been working with the ACO to organise training for people who are interested in becoming umpires. Stage 1 and 2 courses are being run at Carnforth CC on 12th and 19th January. So far nine people have booked for Stage 1 and eleven for Stage 2 and it is hoped that more people will take the opportunity to attend the courses which are being tutored by National Panel Umpire, Steve Beswick and the Chairman of the Lancashire Association of Cricket Officials, Rob Hales. Details of how to book are at

There were a number of rule changes voted through at the AGM last week. Formal details will be in the handbooks, but the headlines are:

Law 42 will be adopted - Level 1 to 4 offences with onfield sanctions available to umpires (this will be explained in detail at the pre-season captains' meeting)

Additional penalties for late reporting of results via Play Cricket (training will again be provided in the New Year) - whilst it generally worked well last season, the biggest problem was clubs reliant on a single administrator if that individual wasn't available.

Tea intervals extended to thirty minutes.

Bowling restrictions in Division 2, 3 and 4 to be changed so that they reflect the overs to be bowled at the beginning of the innings. Rather than a fixed number the rule is now no more than 25% - this means that for example if a team declares leaving their opponents 55 overs to bat, bowlers would be able to bowl a maximum of 14 overs.

Fines for clubs if there is no representative at captains' meetings for each team entered in the league - a player can attend if the captain is unavailable.

Formalising the possibility of dual player registration across leagues. Note that this was allowed last year for one player. It isn't opening up a free for all. Anyone wanting to make use of this additional flexibility will need to make application to the Eligibility Committee.

Umpires fees increased to £40 for League games, but where an umpire does both ends the fee will be 150% not double (£60) and the fee will only be £20 if the game is abandoned within 90 minutes of the scheduled start time

Changes to eligibility rules to make it easier for genuine second/third teamers to play for their club second team on a Sunday even if they have filled in for the first team on the Sunday, and also to stop genuine 2nd/3rd teamers being cup tied

Points penalties if a team fails to provide a scorer whilst their side is batting (it can be a member of the batting side)

The 2020 season will see Vickerstown CC replace Penrith 2nd XI in Division 2 of the Westmorland Cricket League. The Walney Island Club leaves the Cumbria League whilst Penrith 2nds will play in the Eden Valley League. Also joining Division 2 are Sedbergh School 2nd XI who will play half a season in the league, and will allow club cricketers the chance to play on the main school ground which hosted Lancashire in the county championship this season and where the county will play two limited overs games next season. Westgate have started a third team and will lay in Division 4.

Divisions for next year:
1- Arnside, Bare, Burneside, Carnforth, Heysham, Milnthorpe, Sedgwick, Shireshead, Silverdale, Trimpell, Warton & Westgate
2- Carnforth 2, Cartmel, Coniston, Holme, Ingleton, K Lonsdale, Netherfield 3, Sedbergh School 2, Shireshead 2, Vickerstown, Westgate 2 & Windermere
3- Arnside 2, Ambleside, B-L-Sands, Carnforth 3, Galgate, Heysham 2, L Valley, Milnthorpe 2, Morecambe 3, Sedgwick & Silverdale
4- Bare 2, Burneside 2, Coniston 2, Holme 2, Kendal 3, Ingleton 2, K Lonsdale 2, Netherfield 4, Sedbergh School 3, Shireshead 3, Trimpell 2 & Westgate 3.

The four highest placed Lancashire clubs (Carnforth, Westgate, Shireshead and Heysham) have been given the opportunity to enter the Palace Shield’s Meyler Cup next season. More details will follow to the clubs.

Division 2 cup groups will be: Cartmel, Coniston, Vickerstown; Holme, Netherfield 3, Windermere; Carnforth 2, Shireshead 2, Westgate 2; Ingleton, Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh School 2. Matches will have to played in a specific week.

Division 1 cup groups will be drawn in January. There will be fixed dates for 2020 (favoured in the captains' questionnaire). Division 3 and 4 will be straight knockout cups. Ties to be drawn in January.

19 enthusiastic people from WCL clubs have attended a Level 1 coaching course. The sessions were professionally delivered by the 3 educators and included classroom work and practical demonstrations which everyone participated in. Each participant was given the opportunity to put their learning into practice by leading various tasks. There has been good feedback. There is some availability for the courses in March at Dallam. The courses are on the 1st and 15th March. For more details please contact Peter Robinson

These new coaches will go back to their clubs and run coaching sessions for the various age groups. This will undoubtedly contribute to the well being of their club, the WCL and cricket in general in this area and the League urges other people to consider taking the course.

We are looking for people to become members of the Management Committee. If anyone is interested then please contact Tracey or me. If someone wants to observe at a meeting before deciding then that is fine. We are also looking for someone to shadow Kevin as Treasurer with a view to taking on the role for 2021.

The Cumbria Cricket Board is hosting a consultation event on its strategy (called County Partnership Agreement) on 13 January at Burneside. the meeting will also be used to introduced Dynamos Cricket, the new programme to act as a follow on for All Stars and Lancashire clubs are very welcome to attend the whole session. Can you please let Peter Wilson know if you intend to go.

Future dates

13 January 7pm-9pm Launch of Dynamos and Cumbria Cricket Strategy consultation at Burneside CC
16 January 7.15pm League Management Committee
27 January 7.30pm Junior League AGM Milnthorpe CC
13 February 7.15pm League Management Committee
12 March 7.15pm League Management Committee
6 April 7.30pm Captains' meeting
23 April 7.15pm League Management Committee

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

Where next?

Hackney and Leigh Trophy Draw for 2020 season
Final Honours Boards of 2019 Well done Andy Carruthers of BLS who makes the National Bowling Board

Latest photos

League Dinner 2019
39 photos
League Dinner 2019
2019 Season
52 photos
2019 Season
Hackney & Leigh Final 2019
22 photos
Hackney & Leigh Final 2019

Westmorland Cricket League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.