Annual Presentation Evening

By Tim Mansfield

Mike Bracken wins League Achievement Award

More than 130 people attended the end of season presentation evening. Lewis Plackett received the Bateman Shield on behalf of his Championship winning Heysham side. The League Achievement Award went to Mike Bracken of Sedgwick CC. Mike donated a kidney to save the life of a teammate in the early season and by the end of the campaign was strapping on his pads again. President Peter Wilson said of him:

"He has been one of the stand out players in the League since the 1990s part of a team that won the League and finished 2nd three times in that decade. He has always been ultra competitive on the field, always looking to unsettle the batsman and find a way of aiding his bowlers to gain a wicket. He has been an opening batsmen of distinction, always busy looking for an opportunity to score and busy between the wickets. Off the field one of the nicest men you could meet with a unique sense of humour, he took mateship in cricket to a new level when he donated a kidney in early summer to childhood friend George Willacy. It was great to see him back on the field before the end of the season."

For the first time the League award trophy to the outstanding female players. Georgina Brown won the batting prize and Grace Airey the bowling. All the winners:

Division 4 awards

Batting: Niall Parkinson (Kirkby Lonsdale)

Bowling: Rowan Yates (Shireshead)

Wicket-keeper: Andy Harmer (Milnthorpe)

Fielding: Thomas Atkinson (Shireshead)

Under 19 batting: Jake Rigby (Morecambe)

Under 19 bowling: Thomas Atkinson (Shireshead)

Division 3

Batting: Kyle Hinds (Leven Valley)

Bowling: Dan Sykes (Windermere)

Wicket-keeper: David Morgan (Galgate)

Fielding: Rob Speak (Galgate)

Under 19 batting: Lewis Spurr (Carnforth)

Under 19 bowling: Sam Gates (Bolton-Le-Sands)

Division 2

Batting: Bob Davies (Cartmel)

Bowling: Barney Wileman (Ambleside)

Wicket-keeper: James Hesketh (Heysham)

Fielding: Michael Mead (Shireshead)

Under 19 batting: Harry Mason (Silverdale)

Under 19 bowling: James Longley (Netherfield)

Division 1

Batting: Adam Richardson (Arnside)

Bowling: Jonny Matthews (Sedgwick)

Wicket-keeper: Matt Yates (Shireshead)

Fielding: Lee Calverley (Heysham)

Under 19 batting: Louis Potter (Carnforth)

Under 19 bowling: Oliver Sanday (Sedgwick)

Women’s awards

Batting: Georgina Brown (Ingleton)

Bowling: Grace Airey (Netherfield)

Fair play award: Division 2: Ambleside, Division 1: Shireshead

Most improved ground: Coniston

John Thexton award: Heysham

League achievement award: Mike Bracken (Sedgwick)

Captains selected the Divisional teams of the year:

Division 1: Ethan Ellwood (Burneside), Lewis Plackett (Heysham), Adam Richardson (Arnside), Phil Bovis (Heysham), James Royce (Kirkby Lonsdale), Shane Hyland (Kendal), Sam Calverley (Heysham), Riley Wilson (Heysham), Graeme Crowther (Warton), Lee Barnes (Holme), Jonny Matthews (Sedgwick).

Division 2: Bob Davies (Cartmel), Rob Warne (Coniston), Jon Mason (Silverdale), Bob Simpson (Coniston), Mike Burton (Coniston), Mike Wills (Milnthorpe), Harry Wallbank (Heysham), James Hesketh (Heysham), Barney Wileman (Ambleside), Mike Mead (Shireshead), Joe Atkinson (Cartmel).

Division 3: Ed Hart (Arnside), Mark Baldwin (Trimpell), Paul Thompson (Trimpell), Kyle Hinds (Leven Valley), Mark Ward (Burneside), Dan Sykes (Windermere), Matthew France (Ingleton), Will Aspinwall (Windermere), Luke Gorst (Ingleton), Danny Halstead (Trimpell), Josh Capstick (Ingleton).

Division 4 North: Oliver Williams (Ulverston), Mike Dugdale (Kendal), Blake Airey (Burneside), Paul Hodgson (Kendal), Georgina Brown (Ingleton), Ross Swidenbank (Kendal), Adam Knowles (Appleby Eden), Simon Coulton (Netherfield), Rob Timms (Burneside) Isaac Moorby (Burneside), David McGonnigal (Ingleton).

DIvision 4 South: Niall Parkinson (Kirkby Lonsdale), David Sloan (Shireshead), Paul Coulton (Shireshead), Dineshmanickam Annadurai (Morecambe), Ethan Packard (Morecambe), Thamjid Nalakath (Milnthorpe), Oliver Toulmin (Heysham), Thomas Atkinson (Shireshead), Rowan Yates (Shireshead), Freddie Ashcroft (Sedgwick), Brad Brentnall (Sedgwick)

Where next?

Funeral details for Brian Gudgeon Former Silverdale, Westgate and Lancaster player, groundsman and coach.
Heysham can win the title today Whilst already promoted Silverdale can win Division 2; Ingleton can go up today and tomorrow sees Ulverston 3rds and Morecambe 4ths play off for the Division 4 Title

Westmorland Cricket League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.